Saturday, December 09, 2017

Baker Mayfield wins 2017 Heisman Trophy

Photo by Karl Anderson
University of Oklahoma Athletic Communications
Used with Permission
By Robert H Kelly
Copyright 2017 All Rights Reserved

NEW YORK CITY, NEW YORK (December 9 , 2017) Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was awarded the Heisman Trophy for 2017 during ceremonies at the New York Marriott Marquis. Mayfield began his college football career as a walk-on player for the Texas Tech Red Raiders. He is notable for being the first walk-on true  freshman quarterback to start a season opener at a BCS school. The senior, who played his high school ball for Lake Travis High School in Austin, Texas, has previously won the Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award, and Walter Camp Award in 2017. He was also named the 2017 Associated Press Player of the Year.

Mayfield is the fifth Oklahoma Sooner to receive the award. He received 2,398 votes, in addition to 78.8% of first-place votes. Previous Sooner players to receive the award include Billy Vesssels (1952), Steve Owens (1969), Billy Sims (1978), Jason White (2003), and Sam Bradford (2008).

Mayfield and his Oklahoma teammates will face Georgia in a CFP semi-final game in the Rose Bowl on January 1, 2018.

No comments: