Monday, March 10, 2014

Super Series I results from Rodeo Houston 2014

By Robert H Kelly
Photo by Darla Tamulitis-La Vita Loca Photography
Copyright 2014 TexSport Publications

HOUSTON, TEXAS (March 7, 2014) The first round of the BP Super Series at Rodeo Houston were contested on March 4-6, 2014 prior to the start of each evening’s concert with the top two finishers in each event advancing to the semi-finals on March 19, 2014.

Final placing in each event was based on a three-round aggregate score or time on the dirt inside Reliant Stadium in Houston.

Tie down roping saw Timber Moore from Aubrey, Texas place first with a time of 28.1 seconds and $7000 in prize money.

Caleb Smidt (Bellville, Texas) took the runner-up spot with a two-round score of 19.2 seconds and $3000 in prize money.

Richmond Champion from the Woodlands, Texas tool top honors in bareback riding with a score of 254 points and $7,000.

Seth Hardwick (Laramie, Wyoming) secured second place with 249 points and $4,500.

Arky Rogers of Lake City, Florida and Travis Woodard of Stephenville, Texas teamed up to top all competitors in team roping with the time of 18.1 seconds.

The first place finish earned the duo $17,400.

The team of Colman Proctor (Pryor, Oklahoma) and Jake Long (Coffeyville, Kansas) placed second with the time of 19.9 seconds and $9000.

Saddle bronc riding saw Milford, Utah native Cody Wright take top honors with 252 points and $7,350.

Isaac Diaz of Desdemona, Texas placed second with 245 points and $2800.

The top two places in steer wrestling went to Casey Martin of Sulpher, Louisiana and Ben Shofner of Jasper, Texas.

Their times were 134.4 seconds and 14.9 seconds respectively, with Martin earning $8,050 and Shofner pocketing $5,550.

Brittany Diaz of Solen, North Dakota outraced all-comers in barrel racing with the time of 43.91 seconds.

Second place went to Lisa Lockhart of Oelroichs, South Dakota.

The pair earned $7,000 and $6,700, respectively.

Bull riding saw J.W. Harris of Mullin, Texas take top honors with a score of 165 points and $6,200 followed by Michael Riggs of Statesboro, Georgia with 163 points and $4,350.

Action continues in Super Series action through March 18.

No comments: