Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Opening Ceremonies for the AT & T Games of Texas Friday Night!

(WILLIAMSON COUNTY-July 24, 2007) You don’t have to win a gold medal to enjoy the AT&T Games of Texas as competitors from across the state converge on Williamson County this weekend. The entire community is invited to join athletes in the Opening Ceremony festivities from the entertaining Zooperstars to fireworks!

The pre-ceremony begins at 5:30 pm with entertainment and activities for all at the Dell Diamond in Round Rock to include the kids’ fun zone and even get a commemorative picture taken thanks to AT&T.

At 7:30 p.m., all AT&T Games of Texas athlete participants will enter the stadium representing all 21 of the AT&T Games of Texas sports during the Parade of Athletes. Next, the Zooperstars! featuring a variety of mascots ranging from “Dennis Frogman” to “Clammy Sosa,” to Roger “Clam”ens will entertain the crowd as they flip, dance, bounce and shake. The Texas Amateur Athletic Federation (TAAF) will recognize the 2006 Male and Female Athletes of the Year, and the night will finish with fireworks! The cost is $5 for parents and spectators. Coaches and athletes are free.

The 2007 AT&T Games of Texas in Williamson County will have more than 7,500 athletes competing in more than 20 different sports venues. Featured sports in the 2007 AT&T Games of Texas include: archery, badminton, baseball, bowling, boxing, disc golf, fencing, flag football, youth golf, lifeguard competition, paintball, racquetball, soccer (3 v 3), adult softball, swimming, tennis, track and field, triathlon, girl’s volleyball, washers and wiffleball. Medal winners in several sports are eligible to advance and participate at the national level in the State Games of America.

The Games started last weekend in Williamson County with volleyball and 3 v 3 soccer on July 21-22. Most events take place this weekend July 26-29, 2007. They are being hosted by Williamson County and the cities of Round Rock, Georgetown, Cedar Park, Hutto, and Leander as well as Brushy Creek Municipal Utility District.

No comments: