Saturday, December 13, 2008


WACO, TEXAS (December 13, 2008) Baylor’s Jason Smith was among 25 student-athletes named to the 2008 Football Writers Association of America All-America Team, announced Saturday on ABC. Smith is the 45th Baylor student-athlete to earn All-America honors and Baylor’s first since punter Daniel Sepulveda in 2006.

A product of W.T. White High School in Dallas, Texas, Smith anchored a Baylor offensive line this year that produced 2,349 yards and 29 touchdowns rushing. The Bears ranked 25th nationally and third in the Big 12 with 195.8 rushing yards per game. Baylor’s rushing touchdown total was its best since 1994, the third-best season total in school history and one shy of the school record.

Smith, a projected first-round pick in April’s National Football League Draft, is Baylor’s first non-special teams All-American since safety Adrian Robinson in 1995. He is Baylor’s first All-America offensive lineman since guard Frank Ditta in 1980 and Baylor’s first All-America offensive tackle since Mike Hughes in 1975. Smith also was named third-team All-America by

A 2008 unanimous first-team All-Big 12 Conference selection, Smith was one of seven Big 12 athletes on the FWAA team; he joined defensive lineman Brian Orakpo (Texas), quarterback Colt McCoy (Texas), running back Kendall Hunter (Oklahoma State), offensive guard Duke Robinson (Oklahoma), tight end Chase Coffman (Missouri) and wide receiver Michael Crabtree (Texas Tech).

No comments: