Tuesday, November 17, 2015

C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl announces NCAA Division II teams

Logo from C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl,
Used with Permission.
By Robert H Kelly
Copyright 2015 TexSport Publications

COPPERAS COVE, TEXAS (November 17, 2015) The C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl has announced, via a press release on Monday, November 16, 2015, two of the four teams to play in their fifteenth annual classic. The two NCAA Division II teams that will take to the field at Bulldawg Stadium in Copperas Cove, Texas on Saturday, December 5, 2015. will be Eastern New Mexico University and Arkansas Tech University.

The Eastern New Mexico Greyhounds, from the Lone Star Conference, finished the regular season with a 6-5 record and a 3-3 conference record. The Arkansas Tech Wonder Boys, who will represent the Great American Conference, bring an 8-3 season and conference record into the bowl game. The post-season trip will be the first for the Greyhounds since they began play in the NCAA. Their last post-season appearance was in 1983, when they played Mesa State in the NAIA playoffs. The Wonder Boys will be making their first bowl appearance since 1968, when they faced the Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference (AIC) All-Stars in the AIC Bowl. In 1960, they played Texas A&I, now known as Texas A&M-Kingsville, in the Great Southwest Bowl in Grand Prairie, Texas.

No comments: