Sunday, July 09, 2017

Canada, Costa Rica begin CONCACAF Gold Cup with first-day wins

Mexico will try to win their seventh Gold Cup in 2017
Photo by Darla Tamulitis, La Vita Loca
Copyright 2017, All Rights Reserved

By Robert H Kelly
Copyright 2017 TexSport Publications

HOUSTON, TEXAS (July 9, 2017) The 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup kicked off on Friday, July 7, 2017 with two games at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey. Canada downed French Guiana 4-2 and Costa Rica beat Honduras 1-0 in Group A action. Next up in Group A, with July 11 matchups, finds Costa Rica facing Canada and Honduras playing French Guiana.

Group B action saw the United States and Panama battle to a one-all draw, while Martinique downed Nicaragua 2-0 at Nissan Stadium in Nashville, Tennessee on Saturday, July 8, 2017. All four teams will play on July 12 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. Group C kicks off on Sunday, July 9 with Curacao and Jamaica playing the first game at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, California. That will be followed by Mexico taking on El Salvador. Each team will play three matches in the group stages, with the top two teams in each group advancing to the knockoff stage. The best two third-place teams in group play will also advance to the knockout round.

The CONCACAF Gold Cup began in 1991 with the United States winning the first of their five titles (1991, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2013). Mexico took the title in 1993, 1996, 1998, 2003, 2011 and 2015. Canada is the only other country to win the title, in 2000.

No comments: