Monday, November 19, 2018

Three Southland Conference teams selected for FCS Championship

The 2018 FCS championship game will
be played January 5, 2019 at
Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.
Photo by Darla S Tamulitis, La Vita Loca Photography
Copyright 2018 All Rights Reserved
By Robert H Kelly
Copyright 2018 All Rights Reserved

FRISCO, TEXAS (November 19, 2018)

Three Southland Conference schools have qualified or been selected for the 2018 NCAA Football Championship Subdivision tournament with all three football teams beginning play on Saturday, November 24, 2018. 

Nicholls State (8-3), who won the conference championship with a 7-2 record, received the automatic bid and will host San Diego at John L. Guidry Stadium in Thibodeau, Louisiana with a 3 p.m. CST kickoff. The Toreros won the 2018 Pioneer Football League with a 8-0 record (9-2 season). The winner will face No.3 seed Eastern Washington (9-2) on December 1 in Cheney, Washington. The winner will face No.3 seed Eastern Washington (9-2) on December 1 in Cheney, Washington.

Incarnate Word (6-4) will take on Montana State (7-4) on Saturday at Bobcat Stadium in Bozeman, Montana. The Bobcats finished in fourth place in the Big Sky Conference with a 5-3 record. Kickoff is schedules for 2 p.m. CST. The winner will take on No. 1 North Dakota State (11-0) the following Saturday. The Bison won the Missouri Valley Football Conference and are the 2018 NCAA FCS National Champions.

The Lamar Cardinals (7-4) will round out the SLC playoff teams with a Saturday match up against the Northern Iowa Panthers (6-5), who finished third in the Missouri Valley Conference. The game will be played at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls, Iowa with a 4 p.m. CST start. The winner will take on No. 6 UC Davis on December 1 in Davis, California.

All first and second round games can be viewed on ESPN3.

No comments: