Monday, September 03, 2007

Eleven Cities Apply to Host the 1st Summer Youth Olympic Games

(LAUSANNE, SWITZERLAND, September 3, 2007) The International Olympic Committee (IOC) today announced that 11 cities have been put forward by their respective National Olympic Committees (NOCs) to apply to host the 1st Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2010.

The Candidate Cities, in alphabetical order, are: Algiers 2010 (Algeria), Athens 2010 (Greece), Bangkok 2010 (Thailand), Belgrade 2010 (Republic of Serbia), Debrecen 2010 (Hungary), Guatemala City 2010 (Guatemala), Kuala Lumpur 2010 (Malaysia), Moscow 2010 (Russian Federation), Poznan 2010 (Poland), Singapore 2010 (Singapore) and Turin 2010 (Italy).

The NOCs had until 31 August 2007, midnight, to notify the IOC that a city within their jurisdiction was interested in applying.

The 11 Youth Olympic Games Candidate Cities now have until 26 October to prepare and submit their Candidature Files by replying to the IOC questionnaire. An analysis of their Files by a panel of Olympic Movement experts will allow a short list of Youth Olympic Games Candidate Cities to be drawn up for further evaluations by an IOC Evaluation Commission.

No comments: